My 2 Cents Transaction: Law Student

Welcome to the "My 2 Cents Transaction" Series, a money diary log written by contributors of all different income levels, locations, and occupations. Each contributor will be logging their weekly expenses in either food, lifestyle, or activities/entertainment. This is not meant to flaunt what other people are doing or how much they are spending but to open the eyes of individuals about money and how to take control of your future finances. Thanks so much for reading as always & if you'd like to be an anonymous contributor feel free to email me at rachelmchow@gmail.com or message me on Insta/Twitter. xx Rae

Occupation: Law Student

Age: 25

Location: Long Island, NY

Salary: Student LIFE/lives off student loans

Category: Food

Total Spent This Week: $339

Monday Went shopping as usual even though I'm nearly broke lol. Total Spent: $100

Tuesday Went into the city with my friend for lunch and drinks which turned into a whole day of drinking. Spent $100 on food and drinks. $18 on train and $10 on subway. Total Spent: $128

Saturday Went into the city for brunch with a friend. Took a cab to her place for $17. Brunch was $33. Then we got ice cream together which was $6. We then had dinner which was $38. Including the LIRR ticket, which is $17 Total Spent: $111

I definitely need to spend less since I do not have a steady income. I live off of my student loans at the moment. I knew this before going into keeping a log of my spendings but the log definitely made it more real as opposed to just seeing the numbers on my bank account, lol. This week was my spring break, which was more of an anamoly on my spending than other weeks. If I do not go into the city, I tend to eat at home and spend less, so I don't necessarily make these spendings every week.

© 2021 Rachel M Chow. All rights reserved. Website design by Coco Shaw.

  • Black Instagram Icon